Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: From the Ground Up March 18, 2013

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 9:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

Driving home last night, from a great, but mentally exhausting day I needed to ground myself before re-entry with my family.

Do ever have those moments where you have taken in so much emotionally and mentally your head starts to spin and your body starts to sweat?

I stopped at the beach. I was already starting to feel connected to myself again just by the feel of the rocks beneath my feet. I scooped up some of those rocks and tossed them into the water. I gave each of them a name before I tossed them. A name of an emotion I had experienced, a name of a fear I was ready to release, a gratitude I was feeling in my heart. Plunk. Plop. Kerslpat into the Puget Sound.

I stood in the breeze and looked out at the amazing skyline. I noticed the seagulls flying above. I was aware of how good I felt by just taking a few moments to connect with nature, Mother Earth, Holy Spirit, Beautiful Universe. I was grounded again. No longer flying around, exhausted, drained or spent.

I was ready for the next thing. Ready to drive up the hill to my family. Before I left, I knelt down and touched the rocks, thanking them for helping me find my center. A heart shaped rock caught my eye.

Tucking the rock into my pocket I walked back to my car. It would go nicely with the other heart shape rocks I had at home.

When I take a moment to connect to all parts of me – body, mind and spirit – I always find my heart again. And hear its beautiful rhythm.

When you are spinning what brings you back? What grounds you and helps you to breathe again and feel your heart? Your big, beautiful, holy, heart.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

