Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Fire Music April 29, 2013

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 3:04 pm
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday at our children’s piano recital I couldn’t keep the tears from rolling out of me. I didn’t even try. To me tears are of the Holy Spirit and nothing can bring out the Holy Spirit more than music.

It didn’t even begin with my own children. It all began with an eight year old girl, who yes I know a little bit, she was in preschool with our son. She gave Adelle competition. Something about her sweet innocent voice singing and playing the piano to Adelle’s, Set Fire to the Rain and it was raining tears all over my face.

All the performances moved me. Even our son playing Thriftshop by Macklemore. Then our daughter sat down and played Daylight by Maroon 5, I was a puddle again.

Music stirs the soul. It touches us in places we forget exist. When young children stir that within us it is nothing but Holiness.

And that’s a fire I never want to put out.

by J.G. McGlothern

 

4 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: Fire Music”

  1. Connie Says:

    You are so right! And there is something about the combination of children and music that is particularly potent. Purity and innocence is so missing in this world. I remember sobbing at my daughter’s kindergarten graduation as they sang (and signed) to Louis Armstrong’s What a Wonderful World.

  2. This Grandma would love to have been there!

  3. Sonya Says:

    From Twinkle Twinkle Little Star to Chopin’s Nocturine in E minor…joyful and moving. Loved it!


Leave a Reply

