Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Every Breath July 8, 2013

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 8:39 pm
Tags: , ,

Driving home yesterday with my 11 year old daughter, a Police classic came on the radio. As I listened to the words, “every breath you take, every move you make, every bond you break, every step you take, I’ll be watching you,” I didn’t think of an old boyfriend or get all nostalgic about the past.

I was in the moment. I was aware of the bright sun, the silence between me and my daughter and the music on the radio. I was holding my breath and she was smiling sweetly out the window.

“Do you know who this is?”, I asked my girl, now big enough to sit in the passenger seat.

“Yep, the Police, your first concert.”

“Yep.” Must have mentioned it before. More than once.

Behind my sunglasses I was all teary. Was it the song? Or was it that I was struck by the fact that with every breath she takes she is growing up, becoming a young woman, not needing me as much. As I write that last sentence, tears come again. A whole day later. So it must be the later.

And she is.

She is becoming more and more of the person she was put here to be and it is an honor to watch, a joy to dance beside her.

Our bond is not breaking. It is deepening. And I know I won’t always feel this. Our bond will change as
she does. As we both do.

With every step she fills my heart, breaks it a little, then fills it again.

With every move I learn more and more about this beautiful girl. And as I step out of the way more and more I see who she is, who she is becoming and that simply takes my breath away.

J.G.McGlothern

 

Leave a Reply

