Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Save the World October 7, 2013

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 1:21 pm
Tags: ,

I had to give up watching the news and reading the paper. Discovering all the pain, dysfunction, tragedy, abuse and sadness in the world always left me spinning. Our world is a big one and I choose to pay attention to the other side. The side of joy, creation, success, growth, renewal and love.

Don’t worry I am not wearing blinders, I get it, I know about the other side. It’s just that when I look at the ugly, painful parts every day, it overwhelms me and keeps me from moving forward in my own life. I am not trying to be Polyanna here, I just know myself. Being hit every day with the injustice going on all over the place isn’t healthy for me. I don’t know what to do with it. My arms break from trying to hold it all. I get that it is not my job to hold it all. I understand that I do what I can and that is enough. I send positive light, love and energy out to the world. I do little things to pitch in and do my part.

I am just aware of what happens to me when I regularly read the news. I get swallowed up and then have a difficult time breathing and seeing the light through the trees. Maybe a part of me takes it personally.

I guess what I do is seek balance. I don’t completely cut myself off from the world but I don’t let the news of it consume me. And when the information I receive overwhelms my heart and baffles my brain I put out loving thoughts to the situation. I pray by lighting a candle, meditating on a loving word or simply hold up the news and see it surrounded in bright, white light.

Are you a news junky, always caught up on what is going on in the world? Or do you throw up your hands in frustration and block out worldy news as much as you can? How do you seek balance with it all?

 

Leave a Reply

