Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: The Right Seat November 4, 2013

Filed under: Observation — heartwriter @ 10:15 pm
Tags: , , ,

Last night I attended an event that was new to me. I went there not knowing who would be there and if I would know anyone. I am cool with that. I love meeting new people.

When it came time to pick my seat, I paused, there were lots of options. I could’ve just chosen the closest chair to me or gone over to the area where there were lots of folks seated. Nope, not this time. I took a moment to glance around the room. I decided to sit next to another woman who came alone to this event. When she turned to introduce herself, I knew I had chosen a good seat. We hit it off instantly.

At the end of the evening, this woman shared a piece of her heart with me, letting me know what was going on in her world. She wasn’t wanting me to fix her, she was just making me aware of where she was coming from that evening. From a tender place. A vulnerable place.

We exchanged email addresses and have already shared our first correspondance. I don’t know where this will go or it is will go beyond the one email exchange but I am open and am walking forward without assumption and expectation.

You never know who you will meet when you are open. You can never choose the wrong place to sit, the wrong person to reach out to, if you let go of expectation and judgment. If you are open to possibility.

Looking back, some of the longest lasting and most meaningful relationships in my life started just like this.

The stories of how I met a lot of these people all started with taking a risk, putting my neck out there and stepping forward. I just had coffee date today with a woman I heard speak at event five months ago. I went up to her, exchanged emails and five months later we exchanged a meaningful conversation over tea.

I get that I am pretty out going, I was born with it, but it doesn’t mean that I don’t always approach the vacant seat next to the new face. I sometimes play it safe and sit where I am unseen or with those I know. But I think when I play it safe, I miss out.

What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

