Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood December 16, 2013

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 4:46 am
Tags: ,

I share with you my blog post from December 18, 2011

There is something of yourself that you leave at the meeting of every person. Mister Rogers
Yesterday walking through the Pittsburgh airport for the first time in my life I was delighted to discover by the glassed display in my path, that this is the home of Mister Rogers. The sneakers wearin’, sweater changin’, big hearted man, coined many phrases and touched numerous souls with his authentic living. He didn’t just want children to feel loved and special, that was his hope for everyone.
I took a moment to look at the display in the airport then caught up to my husband. In the airport restroom as I washed my hands I noticed a lovely white haired woman dressed in a festive red coat about to depart the restroom with toilet paper on her shoe.
Excuse me mam, you have toilet paper on your shoe. Together with my cowboot wearin’ foot , we removed the t.p. from her Mary Jane loafered heel. You would think I just handed her a diamond broach. Her face lit up with gratitude. Exiting the airport, my husband and I passed a security guard behind a desk, Merry Christmas, the young man greeted us. I stopped in my tracks and paused at his desk. Touched by his spontaneous Christmas Spirit I responded in kind, Merry, Merry Christmas to you too
It’s the little gestures, the small acts that get us to the beautiful places. I am going to remember the words of Fred Rogers that I accidentally discovered yesterday. I will try to leave my best self with those I meet and I will embrace the sides they share with me with a bit of Christmas Spirit and an open heart.

by J.G. McGlothern
December 18, 2011

 

Leave a Reply

