Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: A Peace of Weekend January 13, 2014

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 6:07 am
Tags: , ,

My New Year’s Intention is Peace. I intend to embrace being peaceful in all parts of my life. I am making my clear focus for the year a state of being. I don’t have a list of resolutions, I have one word I am making steps to breathe in, to emulate, to be.

On Saturday morning I curled up into my favorite living room chair and did what I do during the week, meditate and pray for twenty or so minutes. If I wanted to have a peaceful weekend with kids sports activities and agendas I needed to start with what I know gives me a peaceful foundation.

After I meditate and pray I like to read something spiritual or uplifting, thought provoking or inspiring. I opened my new book Radical Habits: Simple Practices to Rock Your Reality by Sadee Whip. I closed my eyes and took a breath and asked, What do I need to know in order to be peaceful today? I thumbed the pages, believing I would land in just the right place, with just the right words to guide me. And that I did. Radical habit #11: Be where you really are.

Ah, but of course. In order to be at peace one must be in the moment. That has helped me in the past. I repeated the habit to myself and went on with my day. There were a couple of times when I got scattered, unfocused and was not at peace. It is then that I stopped, took a deep breath and remembered to be where I really was and that brought me to peace. Peace, they tell us in all those famous quotes, has nothing to do with your outside circumstance, it has to do with that quiet place within.

I am grateful for being reminded of these lessons this weeked. I have layed the ground work for the week. I am ready to be where I really am, walking into my intention for the New Year one day, one week, one breath at a time.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com

 

Leave a Reply

