Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Be Here Now Not Tomorrow March 3, 2014

Filed under: From The Heart,Observation — heartwriter @ 5:17 pm
Tags:

When I really pay attention, when I sit up and take notice, after I wake up, I discover that I am often standing in a place that doesn’t even exist.

Talking with my husband I am aware that I am not even listening to his words. Reading a book the words have been readon the page, but not absorbed, not heard, because my thoughts are elsewhere so I need to start over and reread the passage.

How often does this happen to you, if at all? Are you with someone but caught up in thoughts of someone else? Are you physically one place, but because your mind has taken over you are standing in the past or forward in the future in a place that doesn’t even exist?

When I am present I am calm. When I am present I am aware, connected, really hearing the words, breathing in my surroundings, rooted and standing just where I need to be.

Even just now walking the dog in the pouring down Seattle rain, I wasn’t outside, I was back out home drying the dog, writing this blog.

I stopped. I took a breath. I SAW the trees. I FELT the rain on my face. I stood in the wet grass and took in my surroundings. After that I was calm. I was just fine. It was when I was forward in my mind in some futuristic place that I felt anxious, worried and over whelmed.

Finding myself wandering off from the present I bring myself back with my breath, eye contact with the one I am with or present to my surroundings. It takes practice, patience and perseverance for sure but it is worth it. It is life giving.

What if politicians lived in the present? I would like to think our world would be governed with less fear. Perhaps if relationships were lived from the present there would be less anger, fewer hateful words spoken.

I don’t know that for sure, but I do know for sure, as I intentionally practiced this weekend and again this morning on my dog walk, when I am grounded in the present the air around me is more than sufficient. Full of blessings. If I am out of my head and feeling the ground under my feet, engaging with what or whom is in front of me and really hearing the words on the page, I am just fine. I am at peace. I am rooted. I am here not in a place that doesn’t exist. I am held not scattered in a thousand places.

When I really pay attention, when I sit up and take notice, after I wake up, I discover that I am often standing in a place that doesn’t even exist.

Talking with my husband I am aware that I am not even listening to his words. Reading a book the words have been readon the page, but not absorbed, not heard, because my thoughts are elsewhere so I need to start over and reread the passage.

How often does this happen to you, if at all? Are you with someone but caught up in thoughts of someone else? Are you physically one place, but because your mind has taken over you are standing in the past or forward in the future in a place that doesn’t even exist?

When I am present I am calm. When I am present I am aware, connected, really hearing the words, breathing in my surroundings, rooted and standing just where I need to be.

Even just now walking the dog in the pouring down Seattle rain, I wasn’t outside, I was back out home drying the dog, writing this blog.

I stopped. I took a breath. I SAW the trees. I FELT the rain on my face. I stood in the wet grass and took in my surroundings. After that I was calm. I was just fine. It was when I was forward in my mind in some futuristic place that I felt anxious, worried and over whelmed.

Finding myself wandering off from the present I bring myself back with my breath, eye contact with the one I am with or present to my surroundings. It takes practice, patieince and perseverence for sure but it is worth it. It is life giving.

What if politicians lived in the present? I would like to think our world would be goverened with less fear. Perhaps if relationships were lived from the present there would be less anger, fewer hateful words spoken.

I don’t know that for sure, but I do know for sure, as I intentionally practiced this weekend and again this morning on my dog walk, when I am grounded in the present the air around me is more than sufficient. Full of blessings. If I am out of my head and feeling the ground under my feet, engaging with what or whom is in front of me and really hearing the words on the page, I am just fine. I am at peace. I am here, not in a place that doesn’t exist scattered in a thousand pieces in a million places. I am rooted.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com

 

One Response to “Monday’s Random Thought: Be Here Now Not Tomorrow”

  1. Linda Says:

    Beautiful Jenny! I miss you…


Leave a Reply

