Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Big Assumption April 7, 2014

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 7:13 pm
Tags: , ,

I grew up in the Catholic tradition where it was customary to give up something during Lent (the forty days preceding Easter). As I continue to grow up learning from other traditions and listenting to the divine wisdom within, this Lent I didn’t give anything up, instead I chose to expand my heart with one step. These days of Lent I have decided “not to assume.” Assumption has been a big part of my life. Assuming other’s thoughts, opinions and actions has only gotten in the way when it comes to creating relationships.

When I assume I know another’s words before they speak or their actions before they act, I am cheating them of their own truth. At the same time when I make assumptions about myself based on prior experience I am robbing my own potential and possibility.

More than half way in to Lent, I haven’t abandoned my natural tendency to assume. I have stumbled and I have gotten back up again. Being aware has been half the battle. With each new step, continuing to practice making room instead of assuming, I am learning a lot about myself. Almost as much as I am learning about others.

Where in your life can you make more room for yourself or another by abandoning assumption?

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com

 

Leave a Reply

