Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: 4 Words June 2, 2014

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 4:07 pm
Tags: , ,

I know i have shared this with my followers on Mama Needs A Refill and today it seems perfect to share with you.

Every morning, driving to school my 9 year old son and I participate in a ritual we created that grounds us and prepares us for the day.

We take in a deep breath, quiet our minds and ask for what we need that day and ask that the anawer come in the form of two separate words.

“Mama, let’s do our words he’ll say.”

Then when one of is ready we speak out our words. Today mine were, Believe and Strength. His were, Clarity and Awareness.

I often find the words he speaks are just what I can use in that moment or for what lies ahead that day. He too, claims my words are fitting for him.

Throughout the day if I am overwhelmed, scattered, defeated in the moment, I will call upon our words for wisdom. At the end of the day we share how our words helped us get through the day.

His insight continues to blow me away daily with his willingness and maturity to see where he needs to ask for help and where he could use a bit of guidance.

Sometimes we all just need a word or two to lift us over the fence. A little step to get us over our hump.

This practice grounds me as much as it grounds my son and it is just one more thing that connects us. And isn’t that what we are here on this planet to do? To connect to ourselves, another and to something far bigger than ourselves.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. She is also a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com) You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com

 

Leave a Reply

