Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Sounds of Summer June 23, 2014

Filed under: From The Heart,Observation — heartwriter @ 1:04 pm

Before heading out of town for the weekend, Friday, my son and I took the dog for a walk in the neighborhood. It was quiet. I heard the wind rustle the leaves and as we rounded the corner I heard Lynyrd Skynyrd blasting from the house on the corner. Parents at work, teenagers with the house to their selves.It was the same music of my youth blasting from my teenage siblings bedrooms. I smiled at the memory of me hating their music and now of course loving it.

Throughout the weekend visiting family I tuned in to the sounds of the summer. Early morning bird song, dogs splashing in the water, a motor boat, flies buzzing in the kitchen, the lighting up of the barbeque, the thunk of a croquet mallet hitting a ball. The sounds from my children went from quiet breathing while sleeping in to laughing, just before the big crash of sibling rivalry echoed through the walls.

Ice tea pouring in the glass, slicing of watermelon, boiling water for potato salad. I can’t imitate these sounds with my mouth but I can hear them. Feel them, let them comfort me.
For a gal who isn’t crazy about summer in general I am pulled toward the sounds of the season like a dog drawn to water. I find myself smiling at the memory of dreading summer’s past and now not necessarily loving it but being in it and smiling with my heart. Lapping it up one sound at a time.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. She is also a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com) You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com

 

Leave a Reply

