Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: For the Love of the Game July 14, 2014

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 1:58 pm
Tags: , ,

I am typically not one to enjoy watching other people play sports. I get distracted and bored.

That was then, this is now.

Two years ago hubby and I stopped coaching our daughter’s soccer team and she joined a team where she could learn and grow from a new coach. Hubby had taught her all he could and I was done with her not listening to me. I mean what did I know, I was her mom.

On this team the game became exciting for me as a spectator. These ten year olds were grasping their knowledge of the sport, owning their skills as well as discovering their confidence. I began to look forward to actually watching their weekend games and not just talking to the parents on the sidelines.

Then this summer two things happened. The girls got older. World Cup 2014.

As I was enjoying the girls blossom on the field I still didn’t particularly enjoy sitting on the couch on the weekends watching professional soccer with my family. I had a hard time tracking the action on the screen and I got bored.

Bored that is until Messi, Hulk, Dempsey, Howard, James, Neymar, Robben and Goetze entered my spectating world. I admit most of these players are easy on the eyes but their precission, skill and passion on the field drew me in to actually stay near the couch and not flee the room.

I could track the action because there was action, lots of action not to mention enthusiasm, drive, drama, and a game played with heart. Everything played left on the field. Tears were shed both on and off the field in Brazil these past weeks of the World Cup. Fans crying in the stands. Players weeping on the field. A game played not for ego but for the love of country and for the love of the game.

During the final match of the World Cup yesterday my daughter’s soccer team was playing out their own hearts in their fourth game of the weekend and second game of the day. Participating in a tournament that even had a team fly in from Hawaii. At the end of their game against the Hawaiin team, winning by one goal our girls were given a big surprise. Each girl received a shell necklace from their opponents.

I feel bad we beat them, claimed my daughter, showing off her new gift around her neck.

Unaware of this tradition we were all touched by the gracious demonstration of something beyond sportsmanship. Their tournament was finished but our girls were going on to play one more game. One more long game in the unprecedented heat of an already very long day.

Oh, but wait, I now love being a spectator. I now love the drama, the emotion, the waiting, the anticipation, the let down, the agony of defeat and the passion of a game that not only can be played with heart but watched with one.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. She is also a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com) You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com

 

One Response to “Monday’s Random Thought: For the Love of the Game”

  1. Sue Kelly Says:

    Beautifully said Jenny … thank you!
    Sue


Leave a Reply

