Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: In Dedication November 10, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 11:48 pm
Tags: , ,

One morning two weeks ago in yoga class I decided to dedicate my 90 minute practice, the rest of my day actually, to a woman I had just met briefly two days before at her husband’s funeral. I will never forget her face, I had view of her the entire funeral service. Her husband had died at age 32 and had been the love of her life for the last 10 years. The couple lived in New York and I only knew the young man when he was a small boy at our parish.

I introduced myself to the widow at the funeral reception and will always remember the look on her face, the quiver in her lip and the love in her eyes when she spoke of her departed husband.
For whatever reason I thought of her that Monday morning in yoga and have been inspired ever since to dedicate things I am doing to another living soul for a period of time or that day. This past Friday on my daughter’s 13th birthday I dedicated my entire day yoga class to her. It helps to get out of your head and into your heart when life is troubling you and distracting you from your dreams. Thinking of someone, holding them in good thoughts with the highest intentions switches your focus without losing touch of your vision.

I will continue to think of the widow I met on a rainy Saturday in October and my vibrant teenage daughter just as I am open to dedicate my work, actions, thoughts and day’s activities to other souls who touch my life.

We all effect each other. We touch one another and make differences in the lives of those we we meet briefly or not at all. When I dedicate my thoughts and prayers to those I have read about in the news or to a loved one, I get out of my head and have greater awareness. I live from a place that is a lot bigger than my own dreams and goals. A place with no boundaries, only love.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. She is also a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com) You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com

 

5 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: In Dedication”

  1. Powerful! Thank you Jenny

  2. Debbie Crader Says:

    So beautiful and powerful..I have thought these things but I am now inspired to be more mindful.
    Thank you Jenny

  3. Laura Douglas Says:

    Great suggestion Jenny. I am going to try this.


Leave a Reply

