Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Supported December 29, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 10:52 pm
Tags: , ,

Working with a low back injury for a month now I know which poses to stay away from in my Bikram yoga practice and which ones provide strenth and healing. This morning in class I was feeling ready to move forward and try some of the stuff I haven’t been able to do.

I know to stay away from triangle pose. While the others continue into their triangle, I stay in Warrior II, feeling strong and capable. Only this morning, aware of how good I felt I decided to go for it and to twist into triangle. The first few seconds so far so good. I was even able to smile in triangle, “oh, yes, I have missed you.” Then untwisting and coming out, tweek.

Oh, crap. I am stuck. I can’t get up. Oh, boy I have done it. F____kkkkk!

As everyone is moving forward to the next pose I wave my hand signalling our instructor over.

Are you okay?

I will be, I just need help getting down to the ground. I’m stuck.

Her helpful hand was all I needed to ease my way down to the mat. Without her help I would have let more than one F-bomb fly and I would have been in a lot more pain. Leaning on another, accepting assistance, welcoming an encouraging caring hand, isn’t that what we all need?

Help is there. We don’t have to do it all alone. Maybe you haven’t hurt your back and don’t need the guidance of a strong hand to pull you up but maybe you have another need. A need that could easily be fulfilled by another. Because the thing is, we all like to be needed and help another, that is when we shine.
So who is waiting in the wings and ready to support you? You won’t know until you ask, right? Asking for help takes an act of surrender and the acceptance that we can’t do it all alone. We are here to lean on each other and help each other back on our feet.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. She is also a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com) You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

