Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: The Power of One – a.k.a. Word Power January 5, 2015

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 5:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

What if instead of a long list of New Year’s resolutions and a 2015 agenda with a long lineup of goals, you chose one word?

There is power in even a single word. We know this. One word spoken to us has changed us whether it was to cut us down or build us up.

A year ago I chose my one word for 2014 based on years of longing. I chose PEACE in 2014. By setting this as my one word intention, not only did items get checked off the goal list, I didn’t forget my resolutions before the first month of the year was over. I would come back to this word again and again. Reflecting back, sticking to that one word when it came to making decisions, getting things accomplished and moving forward in my life, it all happened. It happened peacefully. And what ever didn’t happen I was at peace. I learned to surrender. Being at peace doesn’t mean that everything is in order and serene. In 2014 I learned how to find and create peace within even while standing in the middle of the storm.

For 2015 I have chosen Presence as my New Year intention and four days in I already see a shift in how I am showing up to myself, my family, the world. I have spent a long time thinking about the concept of Being Here Now and being completely absorbed in the moment rather in the past or in the non-existant future. Now I have an entire year to practice Presence. I can’t wait to see what shows up.

I invite you, if you are open and feeling overwhelmed about the start of the New Year to take some time to reflect on one word that can carry you this New Year. A word that you are drawn to for it’s possibility, power, grace or whatever it is that pulls at your heart strings. Calling you forward. Calling you to exactly where you need to be.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, she is passionate about all people, not just mamas, receiving an authentic physical, mental, emotional, spiritual refill. She says, “One cannot pour from an empty cup,” and offers her clients the possibility and power of pouring for themselves, first. She is also co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com), where the school “trains to transform lives.” You can find her on FaceBook, http://www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: http://www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

