Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Fruit for the Journey February 9, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 10:54 pm
Tags: , ,

In the poem, The Fruits of Practice, by Danna Faulds I feel affirmed in the reality that I don’t get to control the outcome but rather by being completely present to it and looking it right in the eye, I get to control how I choose to respond. By fleeing or by breathing it in. Today, I choose to breathe it in.

Despite fervent pleas for ease and safety, there are many days when reality doesn’t quite line up with what I’d choose. Breakdown. Letting go. Surrendering even the illusion of control. Breathing into the unknown – sometimes that is what life holds. Practice hasn’t brought an end to pain. I still increase my suffering like a fish caught on a line. My struggles only draw the hook in deeper. But being in reality is its own reward. It’s the perfect paradox; the courage to stand and breathe when everything in me wants to flee is as great a gift as the freedom to seek retreat. No, practice hasn’t brought an end to pain but it has honed my willingness to experience the moment and sometimes see perfection unfolding in ways I wasn’t big enough to plan, much less predict. Practice isn’t about achieving a goal. It’s not a means to pole- vault over suffering. Practice is my way of looking life in the face and saying yes to all its disparate gifts. Practice keeps me awake when I would sleep, and reminds me it’s the journey, unfolding in this very moment, it’s the journey that reveals the truth, and not the destination.  – By Danna Faulds

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, she is passionate about all people, not just mamas, receiving an authentic physical, mental, emotional, spiritual refill. She says, “One cannot pour from an empty cup,” and offers her clients the possibility and power of pouring for themselves, first. She is also co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com), where the school “trains to transform lives.” You can find her on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

