Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: First Friend March 2, 2015

Filed under: friendship — heartwriter @ 10:00 pm

Do you remember your first friend? I was too young to remember the very first time I met mine, but our mothers’ told us we met in the crib. Jill’s family moved in across the street from us and we were only two weeks apart in age. One of our moms had to run an errand one day so the two of us met before we could speak.

 

Most of my childhood memories involve Jill. We invented “2 People Sports”, rode our bikes in our cul de sac for hours, played in the woods behind her house, I learned to swim at her great grandmother’s lake house and even had my first kiss, on a dare in her back yard. I forget the boy’s name, but I know the spot in her yard and remember her sitting next to me while all the neighbor kids watched. We were the founders and only members of the ‘76 club with regular meetings held underneath our stairs in the basement. Every birthday party. Every season. We walked to school or rode the bus from kindergarten through ninth grade together.

 

It was her house I spent the night at when my mom asked my dad for a divorce. And when her parents split, she stayed at mine.

 

When we moved away the end of my ninth grade year, I probably only saw her a couple of times. But when it was time for college and we discovered we were going to the same place, she was my first roommate. We shared an apartment long after we had already shared so many secrets.

 

Jill lives in another state and we only see eachother every few years, but it only takes seconds for us to pick up where we last left off. Like today, when I called her to wish her a Happy Birthday.

 

Fourty seven years ago today Jill was born. We met just months after her birth. Our conversation today brought back memories that only she and I share. No one else, not even my sisters share these memories. Just us. Me and my first friend.

 

Even if you have lost track of your first friend, no one can take away your memory of them or all the gifts they left you along the years. Jill has left me with a lifetime of memories that root me to who I am, remind me to laugh and hold such a tender place in my heart.

 

Happy Birthday First Friend. Here’s to 47 more years of remembering and creating memories that matter.

 

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, she is passionate about all people, not just mamas, receiving an authentic physical, mental, emotional, spiritual refill. She says, “One cannot pour from an empty cup,” and offers her clients the possibility and power of pouring for themselves, first. She is also co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com), where the school “trains to transform lives.” You can find her on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit her website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

