Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Shake it with Love August 10, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 8:25 pm

My longtime girlfriend found this on her morning run out of town this weekend. She thought of me and posted this pic on my FB page. These little acts of love, fill us up. When you think of someone today, will you reach out and let them know? If that isn’t possible then pass it on, pass on the love you feel for them to another. (Just now typing this at a coffee shop a young man on a break from his NW Center truck job has come over to chat. I put down my tea, stop typing and engage in conversation. That’s all we want, connection to another). Where will you spread and share your love today?

Saturday night I had a hot date. My thirteen year old daughter and I went to the Taylor Swift concert in town. I bought our tickets nine months ago. We were ready. Red lipstick ready.

Let me tell you this, there is only one thing better than singing at the top of your lungs. Singing at the top of your lungs with your daughter (while holding her hand). She didn’t pull away. She didn’t tell me to stop. She didn’t roll her eyes or get sassy or even embarrassed. We grabbed hands and locked eyes while belting out,

“Can’t stop, won’t stop moving

It’s like I got this music

In my mind, saying it’s gonna be alright

Cause the players gonna play, play, play

And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate

Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake

Shake it off

Heartbreakers gonna break, break, break

And the fakers gonna fake, fake, fake

Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake

Shake it off, Shake it off”.

I admit some of the lyrics are new to me and I usually make up my own words any way. But just watching my daughter sing along, I picked up the beat, was lightning on my feet and was able to shake it and actually keep up. There is one part of the evening that will always stick with me.

I will forget the great outfits Taylor wore, the entire stadium of 60,000 people wearing glow-in-the-dark bracelets, the order of songs, the special guests, the long line to buy a t-shirt. I will never forget the feeling in my heart sitting next to my girl. It was full. Peaceful, grateful, bursting with love for my girlie. My heart filled up with even more love for her because she had the opportunity to switch seats with my friend and be with girlfriends her age in seats far closer to the stage. She chose to stay with her mama in the nose bleed section, holding my hand, whispering thank you, rubbing my back and not saying a word when I messed up the words. (once, maybe twice)

These moments of overflowing love that fill us are something I never want to shake. I am still floating on air from our time together. Last night she was off to spend the night with her girlfriend and later today when she is home she may go off to her room. A family trip later this summer may bring on bickering and rolled eyes. But we will always have Saturday night and Taylor Swift. I will always be able to step back into that feeling of overflowing love for my hot date, my teenager, my girlie.

Love is powerful, life giving and life changing. Recall a time when you felt love all over, head to toe and I guarantee you will fill up with what matters, with all that you need. All the other stuff, you can just shake it off.

Jenny Gwinn McGlothern is a Certified Transformational Master Life and Spiritual Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, she is passionate about all people, not just mamas, receiving an authentic physical, mental, emotional, spiritual refill. She says, “One cannot pour from an empty cup,” and offers her clients the possibility and power of pouring for themselves, first. She is also a Transformational Educator at Seattle Life Coach Training (www.seattlelifecoachtraining.com), where the school “trains to transform lives” both personally and professionally. You can find her on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill and visit her website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

