Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Early Shmearly November 30, 2015

Filed under: live with passion,mom writer,Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 5:00 pm
Tags: ,

I have always prided myself in waiting to decorate for Christmas until the second week of December. Having a daughter with a huge Christmas Spirit the last few years I have been persuaded to decorate the first of December. I’ve been good with it, for the most part. In my family growing up, the tree went up a week or days before Christmas and then was left up until January 6th. Over the years early signs of Christmas left me all crotchety and grumpy. Frustrated with early light hangers, store merchants and Christmas Carolers who couldn’t even wait until December.

Last weekend my daughter’s friend rode in the car with us to a soccer game. She asked if we would be willing to turn the radio station to 106.9. This Seattle radio station is the Christmas music station. All Christmas, all the time, during the holiday season. One of my rules, is nothing Christmassy until December. I want to savor it. Don’t want to rush it either.

By the time we reached the soccer game,  I was singing Christmas tunes from the top of my lungs and the girls couldn’t wait to get out of the car. I have been listening to the station ever since. It wasn’t too early for Christmas music afterall. It was just right.

When my daughter asked if we could decorate this weekend for Christmas, I gulped. December 1st isn’t until Tuesday. I answered, On Sunday, not a moment sooner.

The Christmas Carols must have gone to my head because on Friday evening, guess who broke out the Christmas decorations? On an evening walk Saturday I noticed many had jumped into the spirit, the neighborhood was all a glow. I didn’t feel cheated by decorating early, I felt excited, grateful and like a kid. Turns out a week or two earlier than usual is a good thing.

We broke out our Christmas book collection and every evening we are reading a book out loud together in the living room with my snowman collection smiling along between the candlelight. The Christmas lights of the season signal hope, provide beauty and is it ever too early for that?

Hi,  I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2008 or this is your first blog stop.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

One Response to “Monday’s Random Thought: Early Shmearly”

  1. ardisanelson Says:

    What a delightful story. I don’t like the rush to Christmas either. I was just communicating with my Spanish family and trying to understand more about how Christmas is celebrated there. They celebrate 3 Kings Day (the epiphany) and not Christmas like we do. I’ve integrated that a bit more into my holiday celebrations in recent years. So I loved hearing that you keep your tree up until January 6th. I also loved your idea of reading Christmas stories as a family. Thanks for sharing your lovely holiday traditions. Ardis


Leave a Reply

