Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: The Gift of Solitude December 28, 2015

Filed under: From The Heart,Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 7:05 pm
Tags: ,
20151228_081653

A short amount of time on my own was the gift I was given and the gift I received with open hands Saturday night.

Here on Maui during our Christmas family vacation I needed to be alone on Saturday evening. I needed a recharge and I knew it would happen if I spent a little bit of time on my own. My kids wanted to swim at the condo pool, hubby wanted to read his book and my mom asked if I would drive her into town for Saturday mass at the local Catholic church. When I dropped her off I noticed  there was a dead end road headed toward the beach. I followed it and parked the car. Thirty minutes until sunset, an empty spot on the beach waited for me. I kicked off my flip flops and let my toes sink into the warm sand. Walking toward my spot, the one waiting for me, I found not one, not two, but five heart rocks. Brown coral. White coral. Big. Small. My symbol. My affirmation.

I sat down smiling holding one of my new coral hearts. The sun was slowly making her way down to the horizon. As she dropped down so did my shoulders. My pulse slowed. My spirits lifted. Me. Alone with God. Alone in Mother Nature. Oberving. Letting go. This. Is. What. Recharges. My. Soul.

20151228_085115

This heart rock was too big for my pocket, but the time I spent holding it, looking at it was gift enough.

When I picked my mom up from church an hour later and greeted my family back at the condo a piece of the beach was still in my heart. The sound of the ocean. The dance of the sunlight. The hearts scattered in the sand.  Holding this in my heart, my time alone, I was ready to be more present, more available and engaged to those in front of me.

Does time on your own with you and you alone lift your spirits and support you in being more present to others? Does it recharge your batteries? How will you listen to the nudge to be in solitude today? Will you notice you aren’t the only one who will receive the gift of your time with yourself?

20151228_085310

On Christmas day I received two gifts at the beach. My mom and my son both found rocks with my name on them.

Hi,  I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2008 or this is your first blog stop.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

