Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: It’s Just a Scratch February 15, 2016

Filed under: From The Heart,Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 6:30 pm
Tags: , ,
20160215_080144

It’s all a matter of perspective.

Pulling into the Leavenworth food market yesterday afternoon after our family cross country skiing adventure, I had a moment of déjà vu . My sister- in – law was driving, I was in the front passenger seat so the déjà vu wasn’t exact but it brought a time last spring when I was the one parking my car. As we pulled in Sunday, my sis misjudged the parking space and nudged the car next to us. She knew right that moment that she had scraped the silver car. I immediately was taken back to the time I knew I had scraped the car last spring parking in front of our grocery store back home.

We all got out and assessed the damage. Yep, a scrape. Walking into the small market my sis asked the customers awaiting to purchase their fresh veggies and local made butter if any of them were the owner of a silver Audi, license plate #XXX,XXX. And sure enough the young woman next in line to make her purchases spoke up.

Back in the spring when I was the one waiting for the owner to return to their car I waited thirty minutes. And when the owner learned I had scratched his car I was not rewarded with love and kindness. He was pretty pissed off and I drove home still glad I spoke up about my actions but scratching my head why I always have to be so honest.

Yesterday’s events had a completely different outcome. The young woman was grateful to my sis for speaking up and there was no need to exchange insurance or phone numbers. Over. Forgiven.

In my situation I think the forgiveness came from my encounter when the man’s tone changed over the phone in one of our conversations. He hadn’t heard back from my insurance company as quick as he’d hoped so our first conversation was anything but kind. I remained calm and kind and even in his frustration with the situation he turned soft. Without speaking it, maybe he realized I didn’t scrape his car on purpose and that not everyone would wait thirty minutes to tell him.

Two scrapes, the same size, two different responses. The man in my situation could have been stressed about other circumstances in his life. The woman yesterday could have just had a great day skiing. We don’t know the details that bring a stranger to respond the way they do. We can only show up as our authentic selves and trust all outcomes are just as they need to be. Messy. Easy. It’s all an opportunity for grace. A chance to live with your heart no matter what.

Hi,  I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2008 or this is your first blog stop.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

2 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: It’s Just a Scratch”

  1. Ethan Freckleton Says:

    Alas, the existential scorecard on the mission of living from a place of love over fear!


Leave a Reply

