Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Refill: Blue Volvo, Purple Rain April 25, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 11:10 pm
Tags: ,

When the news was received last week about Prince’s death there were many of us who were transported back in time to the place they heard his music and to the people they were with when they heard it. Memories sparked, feelings resurfaced. For me it was the feeling of utter joy that washed over me thinking of his songs, like a backdrop to the events of my teenage youth.  It wasn’t until this weekend when I turned on my car radio to Purple Rain just as the rain started to fall from the sky that I remembered the details of an event that happened so long ago.

It was the summer of 1984. Three of us were bored and one of us had keys to their mom’s car. Two of us had met boys at summer camp and the one with car keys was game for a road trip. So like all smart sixteen year girls we sneaked out of the house when everyone was asleep and drove from our Seattle homes to Lake Oswego, Oregon. A three hour drive one way, if you’re curious. We went there and back in six and a half hours. This quick turn around meant we only met up with the cute summer camp boys for less than a half an hour.

I barely remember the guy, but I remember Prince. His Purple Rain cassette blaring from my friend’s mom’s Volvo. Us three girls singing from the top of our lungs only half aware of the grave trouble we could be in. We definitely went crazy, we certainly were nuts. This is a wild memory from my mostly tame youth. A memory I will cherish.  A memory thirty two year later that makes me smile and at that same time say, “What in the hell were we thinking?”

Thank you Prince Rogers Nelson for taking risks, not being afraid to be unique and for gifting us with your music that will always, always take me back to that time when I thought I was indestructible.

Hi,  I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2008 or this is your first blog stop.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

