Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Headphone Connection May 2, 2016

Filed under: From The Heart,Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 6:34 pm
Tags: ,
20160502_110639

A lawn on one my recent morning walks was full of petal hearts. I hope the owners didn’t rake them up for their display of love blessed me all day long.

I admit I am prejudice toward head phones. Not a fan. Out in public, to me it signifies, “Leave me alone, I’m busy.” Many a time I have walked by a stranger wearing headphones, said hello to them only to be ignored or greeted with a blank stare. One morning last week I softened the edge on my stance.  Jogging toward my dog and me on our morning walk was the same lady we passed by the previous morning.  As her steps approached us, she took off her headphones, slowed down her pace a bit and said loudly to us, “Your dog is beautiful, he just kills me.”

 

I replied with thanks and during our short exchange I had forgotten my judgy outlook on headphone wearers. She changed me in that moment. All I want is connection. Even to strangers passing by me on the same sidewalk. I will remember now that perhaps that is exactly what those wearing headphones are doing, connecting. Connecting to what matters to them, whether it is music, a conversation with a friend, listening to a book on tape. The next morning we passed my neighbor blocks from our neighborhood who was doing just that, listening to a book on tape. When she saw us, she pulled off her earplugs and walked across the street to greet us. Another judgment no longer valid. We definitely connected. At the end of her conversation she went back to her book and I went back to walking with my dog.

Prejudice, judgment not valid when proven false.

I can continue to smile and greet passersby wearing headphones and earpieces regardless of how they respond. I can let go of lumping everyone into one category. I can open up to being proven false, certainly makes life more interesting.

Hi,  I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2008 or this is your first blog stop.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

Leave a Reply

