Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Graced by a Feather June 6, 2016

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 5:19 pm
20160606_101404

A lover of signs, a collector of cups and hearts, I may have a new thing that has begun to find me…feathers.

During my prayer/meditation time Saturday morning on our back deck I invited my Angels and the Holy Spirit to send me a sign. I do this sometimes. I am not one who has the gift of seeing, like some see spirits, guides, angels, light auras and other things sacred. But I believe in it all. I trust I am on the right path, but sometimes a little concrete symbol helps me to not give up my faith. A sign can be a word from a friend, a timely experience, running across a message, a symbol, an object.

I was very specific and clear Saturday morning. I asked for a feather. I don’t see a lot of feathers, but I live in the Pacific Northwest surrounded by an abundance of birds. As I write this now on our back deck I am being bathed in musical chirpings of many feathered friends.

After my request I got on with my day. Lots of tasks to prepare for a family gathering that afternoon to celebrate my mom’s birthday. In the middle of preparation and planning I met girlfriends to celebrate two friends’ birthdays. A day of celebrating life. Back at home I cooked and cleaned in anticipation of my family’s arrival.

When most had arrived and we were sipping our lemonade in the front room my son came running in from the backyard. “Look what I found,” he exclaimed holding up a beautiful brilliant blue feather. Clearly a Stellar’s Jay gift left in our grass.

Stellar Jay’s have been one of my spirit animals for some time now. Revealed to me during a guided meditation and regularly visiting me on my back deck. “Who is it for?” I asked.

“Either you or grandma,” he offered.

I received the feather from his hands and looked briefly at its brilliance before placing it in my mother’s hair. A gift for the birthday girl. The stunning blue standing out against my mama’s white hair.  She wore it all evening and took it home with her. I forgot all about the feather and all about asking for a sign from my angels until my morning walk an hour ago. I had received my sign and immediately passed it on. Was it a coincidence? No. I believe miracles happen every minute of every day and it is up to us to witness and notice.

I continued my morning walk in gratitude and yes, asking for another feather. A  piece of love to remind me I am not alone, I am supported, I am on this journey aided by God’s good grace. Guess what? Yep. Fourteen blocks later a black feather lay on the sidewalk. Right there on a street I wasn’t going to walk down, but listened to that inner compass to turn right. This feather wasn’t brilliant blue and actually a little dirty. Regardless, another gift. A sign.

I took it home and washed it and as it dries on the deck I am aware that we don’t always receive signs that we are on the right path headed in the right direction. We are too busy to notice. Too caught up in our heads. Distracted by hosting a party. Even so, the signs are always there. Waiting in the grass or on the sidewalk, offered by innocent hands or patiently lingering in the shadows.

Albert Einstein says this, “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”

I choose the later, believing my signs, grateful for the abundance of miracles.

Hi,  I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader and Writer. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2008 or this is your first blog stop.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com)

 

 

4 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: Graced by a Feather”

  1. Thank you Jenny, I love signs that I am not alone. But I too get busy and forget to look. You have reminded me to take time and be in gratitude.

  2. Diana Dring Says:

    Thank you, Jenny. This one is particularly good. I look forward to your messages every week.


Leave a Reply

