Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: Church Poem October 17, 2016

Filed under: From The Heart,Uncategorized — heartwriter @ 4:55 pm
Tags:
20161017_063303

Another timely gift, this morning’s text from a friend.

Church Poem (Working Title)

I went to church yesterday and I didn’t even have to get in the car.

I brought my dog and we cruised the neighborhood on foot.

Arriving at our prayer spot that overlooks the Puget Sound, I heard the choir,

I witnessed a thousand miracles in the crashing waves.

Giving thanks to the trees, having fellowship with my dog, I received communion without tasting a host, but by being in union with the beauty all around.

Even the grey clouds.

Feeling full and blessed, I remembered the many Sunday mornings in the pew, not with longing, but with appreciation.

That was church for me then and in this moment this is church for me now.

God felt closer to my heart walking in the wind than sitting inside sheltered from the cold.

Recognizing the love of God bubbling inside, I heard a church bell chime.

Deep, soothing gongs, a calling home, not to another place but to here.

To now. To the moment I am in, an affirmation that church doesn’t have to be a place I go to, but rather, a place I create in my heart, where ever I am, whomever I am with.

Like the timeliness of the church bell, I felt a nudge, God tugging at my sleeve to turn around, and it was there in the grey sky, from the spot I had heard the choir, my sign, better than any homily, a rainbow.

Fully arched.

I thought about pulling out my phone and taking a picture, but I remembered, I was in church, and I always felt a little funny about taking a picture in a sanctuary.

So I did what my son does, I took a mind picture.

I thanked God again and asked her to touch and bless the world, just like she was doing now with her multi-colored paintbrush.

I went to church yesterday and I didn’t even have to get in the car.

Hi, I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader, Writer, Teacher and Seeker. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2009 or this is your first blog stop.

 

Curious about becoming a life coach or upleveling your life? I am a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training. The program is transformative, the experience more life giving than words can describe, www.slctseattle.com.

 

Interested in life or spiritual coaching or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com, or simply call or text, 206 255 0463.

 

Leave a Reply

