Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: I Choose Mio Marito (My Hubby) October 24, 2016

Filed under: From The Heart — heartwriter @ 5:42 pm
Tags: ,
20161024_100850

A heart leaf texted to me from my dear friend this week.

A number of years back now, the kids were little, hubby and I saw a marriage counselor. We were in a place of needing some support, a little tweak here and there. In the three or four times we visited this counselor, we both received one life giving take away.

Eighteen years back, on this very day, October 24, 1998 we said, “I do.”

The take away from the marriage counselor was that she asked us to turn to each other and to say, “I choose you.” One at a time, looking each other in the eye. I still feel the goose bumps I felt all over in that moment.

That’s it, three powerful words. I. Choose. You. Since then, in good times and in bad, we stop, look each other in the eye, text one another if one is traveling, speak out to each other right in front of our teenage kids, “I choose you.”

See Mio Marito doesn’t need me to complete him and I don’t him to complete me. He walks in a room and my heart still skips a beat and of course the same happens to him when he sees me, duh!  Absolutely, we annoy each other with our little habits, but we love each other despite of them. I don’t need him to be the best me, but he brings out the best me, he supports me like no other, even when I am not being my best.

Sure looking back on the last eighteen years of marriage, if I would do it all over again maybe I would have made some different choices in the things I said, the way I behaved or the the things I did. I would however, not have chosen a different partner in crime. I would choose Mio Marito again, just like I do every day.

 

20161024_093500

October 24, 1998, “I choose you.”

Hi, I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader, Writer, Teacher and Seeker. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2009 or this is your first blog stop.

Curious about becoming a life coach or upleveling your life? I am a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training. The program is transformative, the experience more life giving than words can describe, www.slctseattle.com.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching (individuals and couples) or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com, or simply call or text, 206 255 0463.

 

2 Responses to “Monday’s Random Thought: I Choose Mio Marito (My Hubby)”

  1. cynderh Says:

    Happy Anniversary, Jenny! It’s a beautiful thing to choose to love another who chooses to love you in return. And to do that on a daily basis is another realm altogether.


Leave a Reply

