Heartwriter’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Random Thought: How the Heart Carries November 14, 2016

Filed under: From The Heart,Poetry — heartwriter @ 2:41 pm
Tags:
20161113_182847

A friend’s discovery on a recent walk. A passerby’s creation using nature for paint, Mother Nature as the pallet, vision pure, raw, from thin air.

On Sunday the kid’s and I had family church in the living room. We do this, not with regularity, but enough that it is a part of us. I light a candle, we come together. Connect. Share. Give thanks. Discuss. Laugh, cry if we feel the urge. Yesterday, I decided to read a new poem, one I hadn’t even read until that morning. Mary Oliver’s poems touch me to the core and I thought you too might like to hear this one.

Heavy

That time

I thought I could not

go any closer to grief

without dying

I went closer,

and I did not die.

Surely God

had His hand in this,

as well as friends.

Still, I was bent,

and my laughter,

as the poet said,

was nowhere to be found.

Then said my friend Daniel

(brave even among lions),

“It’s not the weight you carry

but how you carry it —

books, bricks, grief —

It’s all in the way

you embrace it, balance it, carry it

when you cannot, and would not

put it down.”

So I went practicing.

Have you noticed?

Have you heard

the laughter

that comes, now and again,

out of my startled mouth?

How I linger

to admire, admie, admire, admire

the things of this world

that are kind, and maybe

also troubled–

roses in the wind,

the sea geese on the steep waves,

a love

to which there is no reply?

After I read Oliver’s poem we talked about our friends, we each picked three and went around the circle sharing what we appreciated in these friends. Then it was time for communion.

I cut a molasses cookie into healthy host size and we blessed each other, offering, receiving a bit of love with crystalized sugar sprinkled on the top.

Even when we carry heaviness there is plenty of space to allow the light to get in.

Hi, I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader, Writer, Teacher and Seeker. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2009 or this is your first blog stop.

Curious about becoming a life coach or upleveling your life? I am a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training. The program is transformative, the experience more life giving than words can describe, www.slctseattle.com.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching (individuals and couples) or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com, or simply call or text, 206 255 0463.

 

Leave a Reply

