From The Heart

Creating Balance — Effort Part I

I walk past a gift shop on my way to yoga. The window decorations change with the seasons.  Right now there is a stepping stone with a frog doing a yoga pose with the words – Creating Balance – carved into it, at the center of a display of other frogs in yoga poses.

I have my own yoga frog I keep on my desk at home to remind me to breathe.

Who knew frogs would be symbols of inner peace in my life, reminders of the direction I want to go, balancing in that fine place somewhere at the center of my soul. Moving forward. Leaning into peace on the road to discovering balance.

At coffee with my friend last week I talked about this stepping stone and how I don’t feel balanced in my life. She quietly listened, letting me chatter about wanting this and that in my life – all at once, my vision of balance.  When I was done sharing she shared her observations, You sound so perfectly balanced to me.

We have a vision of what we want our lives to look like. And when one thing isn’t working out in the real picture we tell ourselves we aren’t balanced.

All I can do is show up. Put energy into action. See every little step as plenty. Enough.

Rome wasn’t built in a day and neither was that stepping stone in the store front window.

It started with the artist’s vision. Next the artist played around with the idea for days or more than likely years. Drawing, sketching, sculpting, creating.  Concrete takes time to set.

Little efforts to create a little lovely thing that reminds me when I walk past it, that yes, I am creating balance in my life. I am walking to yoga class. I am walking home from yoga class. Moving forward.

I am showing up in my life with little efforts and not getting discouraged when it isn’t all here now…or is it?  My friend reminds me at coffee.

What if all the things you do are living a balanced life? What if the efforts you make are enough?

(Coincidently…I have another word for a coincidence…Divine timing…but that is another blog, my writing friend wrote about the same topic when we sat down at tea to write this quiet Thursday morning.  Check out soon to be published author Sonya Elliott’s blog post on creating balance in her life…visit… http://sonyaelliott.blogspot.com/2011/05/balancing-chaos.html )

by J.G. McGlothern

2 thoughts on “Creating Balance — Effort Part I”

  1. Thank you for the reminder that each time we bend we are finding a new balance in our lives. I keep reminding myself and my kids to “bend like the willows” because if we choose to stiffen-up we just may break.
    I also want to thank you for the link to Sonya’s blog – she is an amazing woman. Thank you both for writing from the heart. xoxo-Sue

  2. Pingback: Balancing Chaos

Leave a comment