From The Heart

Monday’s Random Thought: Found in Translation

20150817_114028
My glass heart, a gift to myself a few years back.

This morning, the day after a Hallmark Holiday, my heart is full. Yesterday, while eating a delicious Mother’s Day dinner prepared by my hubby, I pulled out the cards. Not the 52 card deck we played with earlier in the day. My hand made index card deck of the five different Love Languages.

Gary Chapman, author of The 5 Love Languages, tells us that we give and receive love in our own way and offers these as the main ways: gifts, acts of service, words of affirmation, physical touch and quality time.

While dinner was being prepared, I sat with my gift of a green smoothie from the neighborhood Fit Bar from my daughter and I made each family member a deck of the five love languages. I was delightfully surprised how much our fifteen year old daughter and nearly thirteen year old son got into it. They each ordered their cards from most important to least important and continued to explain their own definition of the words.

After every family member ordered their cards and shared with the family, more eye opening conversation took place. Lots of awareness of our own needs as well as for the one seated across the table. Daughter noticed that dad’s number one, pyhysical touch, was last for the rest of us. My number one, gifts, was not important to the males in the family, but came in second for my daughter as how she feels loved, not necessarily how she gives love. Lively exchanges, cracking us open to each other, erasing confusion, making space for understanding.

This morning, the day after a Hallmark Holiday, my heart is full from the unexpected gift that comes from being vulnerable and allowing others to give with their heart.

Hi, I’m Jenny Gwinn McGlothern, Certified Transformational Master Life Coach, Retreat Leader, Writer, Teacher and Seeker. As founder of my retreat business, Mama Needs A Refill, LLC, one way I know I fill my cup is by showing up to a blank page to write. Thank you for stopping by and reading my Random Monday Thoughts, because I will be honest that fills my cup too, knowing others are reading my filled page. Life is too short to blog about anything else unless it touches my heart. Please know I appreciate you joining me on this journey whether you visit every week since I began in 2009 or this is your first blog stop.

Curious about becoming a life coach or ready to up-level your life? I am a co-facilitator at Seattle Life Coach Training. The program is transformative, the experience more life giving than words can describe, www.slctseattle.com.

Interested in life or spiritual coaching (individuals and couples) or want to learn more about my retreats in Seattle, please find me on FaceBook, www.FaceBook.com/MamaNeedsARefill or visit my website: www.mamaneedsarefill.com. Holding sack lunch mini-retreats since 2009. Next one February 3rd, contact Jenny, 206 255 0463, to reserve you spot.

Leave a comment