From The Heart

What’s Next?

Visiting my step-dad at his nursing home this morning, a resident rolled around the floor in her wheel chair, alert and clear headed, asking a very viable question.  How long before something happens?, she asked the nurse dolling out medications to another resident.

About an hour, said the nurse sounding like she has heard the question before.

About an hour something will happen, she said out loud, wheeling herself out of the hall closer to other residents.

Still not satisfied, she asked those she spends her day with and who probably expect the question, Anyone know what’s next? It was 10:30.

Lunch is in an hour, a resident told her.

About an hour something will happen, she told herself again.

It’s the question I had on my mind this morning but probably for different reasons and definitely under different circumstances.  Like those I sat with at the nursing home, we don’t know what’s next, but unlike them I can make choices and decisions leading me to the next thing, whatever that will be.  What an incredible gift this life and yes how overwhelming and difficult it can be, but to be given the choice to make it a good day or crappy one is I a choice I get to make.  I don’t have to wait for something to happen, I can create it.

So what’s your choice today? What’s happening next?

by J.G. McGlothern

Leave a comment